USD 497 - School Board



About Us

The community elects seven citizens from the Lawrence school district to serve as at-large members of the board of education. Each board member serves a four-year term without salary. The board's primary duties include setting educational policy, approving the district's budget, and hiring and evaluating the superintendent.

The board meets twice monthly, generally on the second and fourth Mondays of the month. These public meetings begin at 6 p.m. at the district's Educational Support Center, 110 McDonald Drive. Board meetings are televised LIVE on LPS TV 26 (available on Midco with a cable box). Patrons may watch a live stream of board meetings or view meeting videos in the online archive.

Rep/Contact Info

Bob Byers
  • Phone: (785) 330-1401
Carole Cadue-Blackwood
School Board Member
  • Phone: (785) 550-7620
Kelly Jones
School Board President
Shannon Kimball
Past President
Paula Vann
School Board Member
  • Phone: (785) 979-2899

Lawrence Kansas

The Chamber

Visit Us

718 New Hampshire St. Lawrence, KS 66044

Contact Info
(785) 865-4411

Join the Chamber

Chamber of Lawrence

Share This