USD 497 - School Board

110 McDonald Dr.
Lawrence, KS 66044
  • About

    The community elects seven citizens from the Lawrence school district to serve as at-large members of the board of education. Each board member serves a four-year term without salary. The board's primary duties include setting educational policy, approving the district's budget, and hiring and evaluating the superintendent.

    The board meets twice monthly, generally on the second and fourth Mondays of the month. These public meetings begin at 6 p.m. at the district's Educational Support Center, 110 McDonald Drive. Board meetings are televised LIVE on LPS TV 26 (available on Midco with a cable box). Patrons may watch a live stream of board meetings or view meeting videos in the online archive.

  • Whom to Contact

    • Carole Cadue-Blackwood
      School Board Member
    • GR Gordon-Ross
      School Board Member
    • Erica Hill
      School Board Member Vice President
    • Ms. Melissa Johnson
      School Board Member
    • Kelly Jones
      School Board President
    • Ms. Shannon Kimball
      School Board President
    • Paula Smith
      School Board Member

    Loading Quotes...
    The Chamber provides our members with the tools and resources to help them
    build, sustain and grow their business.